Book Review | In Malice Quite Close by Brandi Lynn Ryder


inIn Malice, Quite Close by Brandi Lynn Ryder is one of the tensest books I’ve ever read. Not only did Ms. Ryder manage to keep me guessing about who-done-it, she kept me guessing about what they’d done. This intricate novel covered decades of time and at every twist there was a turn and where you thought there would be a turn you found a brick wall, except that brick wall turned out to to be a trick wall, except, wait, is that even brick? And who’s that guy over there with the shovel?

In the hands of a less gifted writer this book would have been confusing or felt contrived. Instead it was simply breathtaking and heartbreaking and oh so delicious. Highly recommended.

By the way, I’m certainly not a person who judges a book by its cover but this one is exceptional. The picture is haunting but the cover has this weird rubbery / velvety texture that just felt sexy in my hands. Well, and a little creepy too. But mostly sexy.

Also, it is my duty to inform you that I received this book through the Goodreads First Reads Program.

Leave a comment